Catching Hope Chest Light

The sparkle from an angel atop the Christmas tree = gold
A glow from a candle flame when the day fades into evening = yellow
The glimmer of sun on the lake with a sandy bottom = turquoise
A reflection of dancing light from facets on a diamond = the color wheel
~~Tresa

tuquoiseAndyellow3406

Color guides the way to inspiration. I’ve always been drawn to the colors of the ocean, navy blue, sea-foam green or turquoise. Inspiration in selecting beads can come from anywhere, fashion, textile design, a flower or a polished druzy agate. When I hand-pick my beads for color, pattern design, transparency, natural organic forms or hand-cut shapes, the light reflection quality is what make my heart beat the fastest!

This is my latest project. I like to hand-knot between beads with a German brand bead cord, Griffin. This adds more stability and reinforces the idea that something nice should last for a long time, and perhaps become an heirloom when the time is right. Those seeds were sewn into my childhood as my Oma, (Grandmother) who always said to my Sister and I, “Buy something nice that will last, and take care of your things. I’ll put my fur coats in the hope chest.”

What’s your favorite color this season? Interested in more juicy details and my jewelry design? Cool! Click here to go to the Jewelry Page. 

Leave a Reply

